Confessions of a British Period Drama Addict

You name it, I’ve seen it.  I probably singlehandedly keep the BBC in business.  Masterpiece Classic is my idea of the greatest television in history.  Where did this addiction begin?  Actually, I’m fairly certain the true dependency started with Pride and Prejudice.  Which version, you ask?  Take your pick…I’ve seen it.  Although I’ll say it was the Keira Knightley and Matthew Macfadyen version that became an obsession bordering on psychosis when I was pregnant with my first child.  Ah, the days when I could actually watch a movie and hear the dialogue.  I would come home from work, prop up my swollen feet, balance a plate of nachos on my ginormous belly, and rewatch P&P for the five millionth time.  As an aside, who knew that the spell check would have no objection to “ginormous”?   Apparently it’s in the dictionary.  Sadly, “rewatch” isn’t.  I suppose I should have written “re-watch”.  But I digress…

The period drama obsession has now expanded to a collection I am quite proud of.  Although it makes my husband heave at the sight of it.  It gives him the creeps that he can quote Jane Austen against his will.  For those of you looking for recommendations, here’s a short list to get you started:  North and South (with Richard Armitage, be still my beating heart), Our Mutual Friend, Sense and Sensibility (I personally prefer the Masterpiece Classic version), Persuasion (with Rupert Penry-Jones…I’m sorry, I had to pause to swoon there for a second), and the list goes on…

Okay, gotta go.  I’m firing up the DVD player as we speak.  The only problem is, which of these gems to watch??  I think I’ll start with the one that started it all…  Ahh, Mr. Darcy…

Leave a Reply

